Loading... Please wait...
  • Verma "Mul.Apin" LP

Verma "Mul.Apin" LP


Sorry but this item is currently unavailable.

Please check back at a later stage.

Product Description

    “Mul.Apin" is the fourth album from Chicago psychedelic warriors Verma. Since their formation in 2010, they have been a stalwart presence on the Chicago psych scene, carving out music that feels both modern & primordial, like ancient transmissions from an advanced alien civilization. Their ability to nimbly move from skyward-arching jams to howling, epic ragers to heady, experimental synth-concréte pieces and back again has proven to be their greatest asset. The core group is present here; organist/violist/vocalist Whitney Johnson (Matchess), guitarist Johnny Caluya, bassist Rob Goerke & drummer Zach Corn, this time aided & abetted by former full-time (now auxilliary) member TJ Tambellini, who adds exploratory synthesized textures to the band's interplanetary sonic palette.

    "Mul.Apin" finds them floating in the dense fog of nebulous space - a territory familiar to them since their TiM debut, "Coltan" back in 2012, moving instrumentally between intense cosmic burners and mellow synth meditiations. The "Mul.Apin" is the conventional title given to an ancient Babylonian text that maps out the basic structure of the Babylonian star map, & the five suites of the album act as guideposts on the listener's journey. The opening suite of Side A, "Nerebu / Overture" acts as an entry point to 'Mul.Apin's conceptual vision; a mellow unfolding of space. The ancient ones are awakening. "Elil.Sa.Ursag / Hero's.Theme" is a propulsive rocket ride, while "Irhandi / Sorcerer" is majestic and atmospheric drone, floating towards an uncertain cosmic destiny. The side closer "Kaskal / The.Journey" is just that; a motorik road tune for a galactic odyssey, time-traveled forth from Seventies Germany into present day. Side B is solely occupied by the epic "Gal.Damhara / Last.Battle" a sixteen minute journey to a black hole, pausing at the summit, before finally tipping inward to the next world. "Mul.Apin" is an album to occupy your innerspace - drones for the places between your molecules. The soundtrack to the vast, cold blackness of space.

"Mul.Apin" is pressed on basic black wax and icludes a download code.

RIYL: Amon Duul, Hawkwind, Neu!, Cave, Bitchin' Bajas, Tame Impala, Comets On Fire, Dungen, Sky Records 

Find Similar Products by Category

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Write your own product review

Recent Updates

Connect with us: Facebook Twitter Instagram